California Property & Casualty (CA-PC) · Chapter 7

California Property & Casualty: Commercial Casualty — CGL, Commercial Auto & Workers' Compensation

5 free practice questions from the 37 in this chapter of StudyWren Insurance. Pick an answer and check it to see the explanation. Part of the free California Property & Casualty practice exam.

Commercial Casualty — CGL, Commercial Auto & Workers' Compensation CA-PC-07-425

A California business owns a fleet of service trucks and purchases a Business Auto Policy (BAP) with covered-auto symbol 1 (any auto). An employee uses their personal vehicle for a business errand and causes an accident that injures a third party. The employee's personal auto policy has expired. Which statement is true regarding coverage under the BAP?

Show the answer

The answer is D: The BAP covers the business's liability for the employee's use of the personal vehicle.

Covered-auto symbol 1 means 'any auto,' which includes owned, hired and non-owned autos, so the employee's personal vehicle used on a business errand is a covered auto. The named insured is an insured for any covered auto, so the BAP responds to the business's liability for the third party's injury, subject to its limits and conditions. The employee is not an insured under the BAP for a vehicle the employee owns. For a covered auto the business does not own, the BAP is excess over other collectible insurance, but here the employee's personal auto policy has expired, so no other insurance is collectible. Symbol 1 does not require a separate non-owned auto endorsement, because it already includes non-owned autos.

Reviewed in our October 2026 California fact-check.

Report a problem with this question

Commercial Casualty — CGL, Commercial Auto & Workers' Compensation CA-PC-07-434

A California hospital purchases a directors and officers (D&O) liability policy with Side A, Side B, and Side C coverage. The hospital faces a lawsuit from a patient alleging that the hospital's board of directors failed to oversee proper billing procedures, leading to the patient being overcharged. Which insuring agreement would most likely respond to this lawsuit?

Show the answer

The answer is D: Side C coverage, which gives the hospital entity coverage for wrongful acts alleged against it.

Side C coverage (entity coverage) in a D&O policy covers the organization itself for wrongful acts, such as failures in oversight or management by the board that constitute a breach of duty owed by the entity. The allegation that the board failed to oversee billing procedures, leading to overcharges, is a claim against the hospital for its own failures in governance, so Side C is the insuring agreement that responds. Side A protects individuals only when the organization cannot indemnify them (for example, in insolvency), which is not alleged here. Side B reimburses the organization after it has indemnified individuals, but the claim is against the hospital, not seeking indemnification of individuals. D&O policies do cover failure-of-oversight allegations as wrongful acts, so the claim is not outside D&O coverage. (A claim for a patient's illness or injury would be different: D&O policies typically exclude bodily injury, which falls under the hospital's general or professional liability coverage.)

Reviewed in our October 2026 California fact-check.

Report a problem with this question

Commercial Casualty — CGL, Commercial Auto & Workers' Compensation CA-PC-07-441

A California architectural firm purchases a professional liability (errors and omissions) policy that is claims-made and reported. The policy has a retroactive date of January 1, 2022, and a policy period of January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025. A client files a lawsuit on November 1, 2024, alleging negligence in a design completed on November 15, 2021. The firm reports the claim to the insurer on November 10, 2024. Is the claim covered?

Show the answer

The answer is B: No, because the wrongful act occurred before the retroactive date

A claims-made and reported policy requires both that the claim be made and reported during the policy period and that the wrongful act occur on or after the retroactive date. Here the claim was made on November 1, 2024 and reported on November 10, 2024, both within the January 1, 2024 to January 1, 2025 policy period, so that requirement is met. The design was completed on November 15, 2021, which is before the January 1, 2022 retroactive date, so the wrongful act falls outside the covered period no matter when the claim was made or reported. Timely making and reporting of the claim does not cure an act that predates the retroactive date, and the claim was not made after the policy expired.

Reviewed in our October 2026 California fact-check.

Report a problem with this question

Commercial Casualty — CGL, Commercial Auto & Workers' Compensation CA-PC-07-444

A California trucking company operates under a Motor Carrier Policy. The company hires an owner-operator under a written lease agreement that meets federal truck-leasing regulations and does not require the owner-operator to hold the company harmless. The owner-operator causes an accident while hauling the company's trailer under the company's operating authority. Which statement is true regarding liability coverage?

Show the answer

The answer is C: The motor carrier's policy provides primary liability coverage

Under the ISO Motor Carrier Coverage Form (CA 00 20), the carrier's liability coverage for a covered auto it hires from another motor carrier and uses exclusively in its for-hire business is primary when the lease does not require the lessor to hold the carrier harmless, and a trailer connected to a covered power unit is covered on the same primary or excess basis as that power unit. Federal leasing rules point the same way: the lease must give the carrier exclusive possession, control and use of the equipment and complete responsibility for its operation (49 CFR 376.12(c)(1)), and must state the carrier's legal obligation to carry insurance that protects the public (376.12(j)(1)). Independent-contractor status is left unchanged by those rules (376.12(c)(4)), so it does not remove coverage. The owner-operator's own policy is not the first layer, and the loss is not split equally between the two policies.

Source: 49 CFR 376.12

Report a problem with this question

Commercial Casualty — CGL, Commercial Auto & Workers' Compensation CA-PC-07-452

A California hospital purchases a directors and officers (D&O) liability policy with Side A, Side B, and Side C coverage. A patient sues the hospital's individual board members, alleging that they failed to oversee proper billing procedures, leading to the patient being overcharged. The hospital is financially solvent and indemnifies the board members. Which insuring agreement would most likely respond to this lawsuit?

Show the answer

The answer is D: Side B coverage, as it reimburses the organization for indemnification of directors and officers.

When the organization is solvent and indemnifies its directors and officers, Side B responds: it reimburses the organization for the indemnification it provided. Here the patient sued only the individual board members and the hospital indemnifies them, so Side B applies. Side A applies only when the organization cannot or will not indemnify the individuals, for example in insolvency, so it is not triggered. Side C is entity coverage for claims against the hospital itself for its own wrongful acts; no claim is made against the hospital, so Side C does not apply, and the hospital's only role is as the indemnitor that Side B reimburses.

Reviewed in our October 2026 California fact-check.

Report a problem with this question